1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. About Us
  4.  » Leadership
Nita Pond

Nita Pond


At Whanganui Girls’ College, I have continued to share my love for teaching and passion for the performing arts.  I am in the privileged position of being able to support and guide many of our students through to academic and personal success as they make their journey through secondary school.

The family feel of the school along with its strong house spirit and ASTRA school values give students, staff and community a sense of belonging and self-worth.

Email: [email protected]

Craig Ritani

Craig Ritani

Deputy Principal

I am originally from Christchurch but completed a Bachelor of Physical Education at Otago University. From there, I taught at Christchurch College of Education. I then traveled to London and worked in an all-boys school for two years before travelling around Europe and returning to New Zealand. I then applied for a job at Wanganui Collegiate School as Head of Physical Education and ended up working there for nine years. When an opportunity came up to work at Whanganui Girls’ College as Assistant Principal, I decided it was a great opportunity to gain more experience at a good school. I’ve also been heavily involved in hockey as a player and coach and enjoy coaching the 1st XI girls team here at Whanganui Girls’ College.

Email: [email protected]

Our School Social Worker

School Social Worker – Te Mania O’Rourke

The role of the social worker is to provide confidential support, guidance and advocacy for students and their families/whanau to ensure students are emotionally safe, both at school and in their lives. Social work in New Zealand is governed by two professional bodies: ANZASW – Aotearoa/New Zealand Association of Social Workers and SWRB – Social Work Registration Board.


Te Mania’s qualifications include a Diploma in Social Work, a Certificate in Counselling, and Primary Certificate in REBT (Rational Emotive Behavioural Therapy). She is accredited to facilitate Strengthening Families Meetings and is a member of ANZASW (Aotearoa / New Zealand Association of Social Workers). Te Mania is registered with the SWRB (Social Workers Registration Board).

Our Deans

Mr Ryan McFadyen

Year 9 Dean

Mrs Karen Laing

Year 10 Dean

Ms Sarah Drakefield

Year 11 Dean

Ms Nina Barbezat

Year 12 Dean

Ms Brenda Thompson

Year 13 Dean

Our HoDs

Mr Leslie Davis

Social Sciences

Ms Rachel Conley


Ms Caren Steed

English and Languages

Mrs Caroline Rhodes

Visual and Performing Arts

Mrs Blanche Cloete


Mrs Sandra Friedel


Ms Amy Fairhurst

Health and PE

Mrs Debra Tunbridge

Learning Support